(And let's be clear, there's a difference between deleting an account and just deactivating it.
We'll spell out the differences for each account, as needed.) Also, sometimes legality prevents a service from deleting everything you've posted publicly in the past, so remnants of your time there could remain in perpetuity.
This might seem obvious—it’s the same reason why deleting your Facebook app doesn’t delete your Facebook account.
But anecdotally, finding yourself on dating apps after you believe you’ve removed yourself from them comes as more of a surprise than you’d think.
A new version of the app that allows deleting within the app is rolling out in a few days, a spokesperson said over email.
The phrase "I wish I could quit you" takes on a whole new meaning when you want out of a relationship with an internet service.
When asked how long Tinder waits to hide a user’s profile, the representative said the company does not share that information, but that Tinder does send the user a message that their profile is being “hidden” due to inactivity.
If you want to delete your account, email Coffee Meets Bagel’s customer service team and ask them to delete your account.
But then, perhaps, you met someone, or your dates were all duds. You deleted the apps from your phone, hoping never to hear from another graphic designer in Brooklyn or developer in Oakland again.
But contrary to popular belief, deleting Tinder does not mean singletons in the surrounding area stop seeing your profile.
To fully delete an account, go to the Delete My Account page. After 30 days—the grace period for you to return—the account and data is deleted. Note that Vine, the hobbled six-second video-sharing service owned by Twitter, is also matched to your Twitter account, so deleting Twitter deletes your Vine.
Be aware that, per the Facebook data use policy, "after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users." Translation: if you wrote a comment on a friend's status update or photo, it will remain even after you delete your own profile. Visit Twitter's "account settings" page from a desktop web browser (you can't do it via mobile) and you can deactivate your account with the link at the bottom. Visit your Vine settings on the desktop to click the Delete Account link, or email [email protected] to get it "permanently suspended." Do it before you delete Twitter, or be sure to add an email to your Vine account, or they may not be able to match you do the email address. The company has so many services—an office suite and storage via Google Drive, email via Gmail, blogging with Blogger, apps and media via the Google Play store, advertising via Ad Sense, video sharing via You Tube, maps, Hangouts, Google Photos, a sad play at a social network...it's endless.